Before You Decorate…

November 24, 2009

Whenever I want to redecorate a room, the first thing I do is empty it. I do not want old pieces of furniture or old color schemes effecting my decisions about the new direction for the room. Most of the time, my decorating projects do not include changes in the flooring because that is quite messy and time consuming. Paint is easy and cheap but ripping up carpet or refinishing wood floors is complicated and expensive. Therefore, if I am leaving the carpet in place, there is one more thing I have to do before proceeding with my décor planning. I need to shampoo the carpets. You want to make sure that you are starting with a truly blank canvas. You want the carpets to show their true color and texture which can only be seen after a good thorough carpet cleaning.

If you do not own a carpet shampooer then you have two choices. First, you could rent a carpet shampoo machine. There are machines available for rent at local hardware superstores like Home Depot or Lowes. My local grocery store even has some carpet cleaner that you can rent by the day . If you rent a machine, you will have to purchase carpet shampoo to use with the machine. If you do not want to take the time, another option is to hire a carpet shampoo service. This would be a group of people who come out to your home and clean your carpets for you. Of course, this option is much more expensive, but it does save your time.

Leave a Reply

